A Jewel of His Heart by Maggie Brendan

Romance readers have taken to the soft, romantic style of Maggie Brendan in her runaway-hit debut novel No Place for a Lady. Now, the second book in the series releases with great anticipation, taking readers back to the Big Sky Country of the American frontier—and the life and love that awaits.

The second book in the Heart of the West series, The Jewel of His Heart is set in 1890s Montana. It is here that Juliana calls home when she meets Josh McBride, a handsome, gentle sheepherder. When he discovers a rare kind of sapphire on his property and considers striking out on his own path in the world, he is forced to decide what’s most important to him: the world’s riches or the eternal value of love in a woman whose eyes rival the rarest of gems.
For fans of Lori Wick and Kim Vogel Sawyer, Maggie Brendan’s beautifully woven story captures the rugged, adventurous life on the American frontier—and the quest for love by the pioneers who live there.

This is a sweet romance about two young people who are trying to find their way to each other while struggling through various paths of the world. Josh’s kindness and youthful innocense is displayed in all his interactions with Juliana, and the way Maggie Brendan shows his own insecurities is endearing.

Maggie has a lot of similiarities to Janette Oake with her gentle western romance. Though the story is a lovely narrative of heartbreak and true love, I had a difficult time connecting with the characters. I’m not certain why, perhaps it was me, but Juliana’s emotional ups and downs were sometimesSometimes she seemed to respond harshly to Josh – unexpectedly and without warning. That kind of tossed me off kilter with the story.

Overall, it was a sweet read and fans of Janette Oake and Lori Wick would enjoy this gentle romance.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s