I wrote my first story when I was a nine year- old, freckled-faced tomboy in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains (my earlier writings wouldn’t have been considered “books”, more like short stories). Coming from a long line of oral storytellers, weaving a good yarn seemed a typical part of my life.  It wasn’t until I finished college, had two children, and a full-time job before I began to study the ‘craft’ of writing (you know when I had plenty of time).

My music-director turned pastor husband took his first senior pastor position eight years ago, moved the 6 of us to Tennessee, where we added our fifth and final kid to the Basham crew. And now we’re in Asheville, NC. Yep, we love the Blue Ridge Mountains.

So…now I’m an older, freckled-faced mommy enjoying life, learning to write, and laughing often.  My mom says that I must have a small bit of insanity because I don’t realize how stressed I ought to be.

I’m also a speech-language pathologist who spends her time hanging out with kids who have social communication and language difficulties! It’s a challenge and a blessing – and constantly teaches me about the importance of thinking outside the box!

My newest book, The Heart of the Mountains, brings readers into the early 20th century Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. It’s a sequel to Laurel’s Dream and both are now available. 

You can get to know me on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, or Twitter.


2020 – CelebrateLit Book of the Year– finalist (The Red Ribbon)

2019 – Inspy Awards Longlist – Contemporary Romance (My Heart Belongs in the Blue Ridge)

2017 – RT Awards – finalist in the Inspirational Romance category (The Thorn Healer)

2017 – Shortlist for the Inspy Awards – Contemporary Romance (A Twist of Faith)

2017 Grace Awards Finalist – A Twist of Faith

2016 – ACFW Carol Award Finalist  – Debut (The Thorn Bearer) 

2016 – Shortlist for The Inspy Awards (The Thorn Bearer)

2015 – Finalist for The Grace Awards (The Thorn Bearer)

2015 – Bronze in the Reader’s Favorites International Contest (The Thorn Bearer)

2012 – Semi-finalist in ACFW’s Genesis Contest (A Twist of Faith)

2011 – Double-Finalist for ACFW’s Genesis Contest (Just the Way You are and Heartless)

2010 – Finalistin RWA’s Golden Rose (The Thorn Bearer)

2010 – First Place in the Inspiration Category of the TARA (The Thorn Bearer)

2009- BRMCWC Award of Excellence in Christian Fiction (Just the Way You Are)

Pin It on Pinterest